Managing access permissions to files and folders
Whimsical offers several ways to manage access to files and folders.
Access to Workspace Sections
Workspace sections are the primary way of managing access to files for workspace members. To change access to files, you can move them from one section to another.
Files and folders located under My files are private to you by default, nobody else can access your private files unless you choose to share them.
On the Starter Plan, you can use shareable links to allow people to view your files.
On the Pro Plan, you can share files with your workspace, and enable comment or edit access for guests.
Shared with you
Files and folders that others have shared with you directly. You may have different permissions per file, such as editor, or viewer. When you share files with others, this is where they will see them.
A team is a subset of workspace members. Each workspace team gets its own workspace section and only existing workspace members can join a team. By default, only workspace members invited to the team can access its content.
On the Starter Plan, you can use shareable links to allow people outside the workspace to view your files.
On the Pro Plan, you can enable comment or edit access for up to 10 guests per file or folder.
Here's how the different workspace sections look. You'll also find Templates & Themes, and the Trash.
Sharing Files and Folders
Shareable links for My files aren't enabled until you choose to allow them. To give others access, click the Airplane icon (upper-right corner) and choose Get Shareable Link. From there, depending on your plan, you can toggle the settings for Anyone with a link to let people view, comment, or edit files. Or you can disable their access entirely:
Sharing “My files” with people in your workspace
Files created under My files are only accessible to you by default, but you can make them accessible by sharing in the same way.
To do so, open the “Share” menu on the top right, and choose a level of access for members of your workspace:
- Files shared this way will still only be accessible by direct link and will not appear in the “Everyone at” section or when searching.
- If you are on the Starter Plan, other workspace members will only be able to view your files. They will not be able to comment or edit.
- When a file is shared with all workspace members, you’ll see this icon on the share button:
Here are the permission settings in more detail:
Has no access - won't allow anybody to access the file or folder unless it's located in a shared section of your workspace (in that case, other workspace members will have access by default)
Can view - lets anyone view the file if they have the shareable link
Can comment - lets anyone view and comment on the file if they have the shareable link (Pro Plan)
Can edit - lets anyone edit the file if they have the shareable link (Pro Plan)
The other sharing settings are:
Include board position - toggling this will open the board in the same exact position when the link was created (only available in boards)
Require password - enable if you want to protect the file with a password (Pro Plan)
Allow anonymous comments and updates - enable this to allow folks who don't have a Whimsical account to comment and / or edit your files (only available if you choose
Anyone with a link can commentor
Anyone with a link can editpermissions. Available on Pro Plan.)
Add guest - to read more about adding guests, please check this article.