What is the difference between a team and an Organization workspace?

We've designed Whimsical so that one Organization or Company will have 1 Organization Workspace.

Are you working alone? If you do not need to collaborate with others in real-time, or do not need to have access to shared files together, you can use a Personal Workspace instead. You can always toggle between Workspaces using the drop-down menu in the upper left of your Workspace.

If you are working together across a whole Organization or Company, but also need to accommodate more levels of permissions for groups of people who need to have their work kept private, you can set up Teams.

So, as a quick breakdown:

  • Organization Workspace = Company-level, shared by all users in the Workspace

  • Team = Department or Squad-level, accessible to only those users who are invited

Below is an introduction to the 3 sections you'll see

when you're signed into an Organization Workspace.

Private Section

  • Up top there is a private section that is only accessible by you when you are signed into the Organization Workspace (like we mention above, you can navigate to a different Organization Workspace or your Personal Workspace using the drop-down menu in the top left)

  • Consider this your sandbox to make drafts or create documents you need to keep private. If you later want to share what you create more publicly in your Workspace, you can drag + drop boards into folders in your Organization Workspace.

Team Section

  • A Team is a totally private section within a Workspace (a secret Workspace within a Workspace 😃)

  • Any Editor in your Workspace can create Teams and then invite other Workspace Members to join. (note: Viewers cannot create Teams)

  • Only members added to the Team will be able to view or access the boards stored in the Team. Other Workspace members won't see Team boards and won't even know that the team itself exists.

  • If you are a member of an Organization Workspace but are not a member of any Teams, this section will appear blank.

Shared Section

  • The final section of your Organization Workspace shows the Shared folders where ALL users (both Editors and Viewers) in the Workspace can see an interact with Boards & Folders.


Here's how the different sections look! Let's pretend the denizens of Arendelle decided they'd like to digitize their Kingdom's operations with Whimsical. This is a view of how the Arendelle Workspace would look from Kristoff's view when he's signed into the app.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.